Stria vs ScopeShield: a guardian inbox

Stria vs ScopeShield at a glance

Stria — Scope, sign-off and billing as one record — every client request judged against a locked baseline, and a tamper-evident approval you can export.

ScopeShield — A scope platform with a per-project forwarding address for intake, sold on a seat-tiered ladder from solo to agency.

The short version

ScopeShield is the better buy if a dedicated forwarding address per project is how you want requests to arrive — that is a genuinely good intake design. Its ladder starts above Stria’s and rises steeply, and its site does not describe invoicing. Stria is cheaper at entry and carries the request through to a signed change order and an invoice.

Stria compared with ScopeShield on price and terms
 StriaScopeShield
Entry price$19/mo — you + 1 collaborator, unlimited clientsFrom $39/mo
Standing free tier3 clients, 6 deliverables a month, no card—
Seats at the entry priceYou + 1 collaboratorOne user
Taken from money you collectNothing — you collect on your own StripeNot published
Price checkedPublished on our pricing page2026-09-01

ScopeShield figures were read from their own pricing page on 2026-09-01 and are re-checked on a 120-day cycle. Prices move — confirm current terms before deciding. ScopeShield pricing

Choose Stria if

You want the same intake plus the billing half, at a lower entry price.

Choose ScopeShield if

Per-project email intake is the feature you are buying, and the price is not the constraint.

All comparisons

ScopeShield is the 2026 tool whose mechanism looks most like ours on the mail path: a

per-project address you put in the kickoff doc, and a verdict on every forwarded client

email. We fetched the live page. The overlap is real. So is the price gap.

The short answer

ScopeShield writes the SOW, then watches a guardian address. Paste a brief, get nine

protective sections including exclusions and a change-order policy. The client signs through

a portal with name and email, no DocuSign, no client account. After that, you forward client

mail to a project-specific guardian address and get a verdict with a one-click change order

if it is out of scope.

Stria also reads forwarded mail, without connecting a mailbox. That is the same shape of

intake ScopeFence already has, and we are not going to describe forwarding as unique. What

Stria adds after the verdict is a locked version, a revision meter, an invoice on your own

Stripe, and a ledger sync — at $19 a month rather than $39.

If you want AI-written SOWs and a guardian address living in the client's CC field, they are

built for that. If you also need the extra to become cash, keep reading.

StriaScopeShield
Entry paid$19/mo, 2 seats$39/mo Solo, 1 seat, 2 projects
Next rung$39/mo, 5 seats$99/mo Starter, 2 seats, 5 projects
Top$79/mo, 15 seats$399/mo Agency, 10 seats
Standing free tierYesNone — 14-day trial
Mail intakeForward to StriaForward to a guardian address
Issues the invoiceYesNot stated

Where ScopeShield is the better choice

  • SOW generation from a pasted brief. Nine sections — scope, exclusions, milestones,

revision policy, change-order policy — in minutes rather than a blank Google Doc. Stria

expects you to lock a scope you already have. Their writer is a real time-saver at the

start of a job, and we do not have an equivalent on the public site.

  • The guardian address lives with the client. "You put it in your client kickoff doc —

and it lives inside your client's inbox from day one." That is a stronger default than

hoping you remember to forward. The mechanism is still forwarding, not mailbox OAuth, and

we use forwarding too. Their packaging of it as a project identity the client already has

is better product design for this specific step.

  • White-label PDFs and a custom domain, on the upper rungs. Agencies that want the SOW

to look like their operations team, not a SaaS footer, will care. Stria puts your logo and

colours on client pages from Solo; it does not sell a custom domain for the guardian

address.

  • Signing without a DocuSign bill. Name, email, signed PDF to both parties. No client

account. That loop is clean.

Where Stria is the better choice

1. Price

Read from each vendor's own site on 1 September 2026. Solo is $39 a month for two active

projects and one seat. Starter is $99 for five projects and two seats. Pro is $249. Agency

is $399 for ten seats. Annual billing saves two months. A fourteen-day trial sits on every

plan; that is a trial, not a free tier.

Stria opens at $19 for two seats with no project cap on the paid rungs. We are not going to

talk around a ladder that starts twice as high for a metered project slot.

2. Forwarding is not unique, and the money still has to move

ScopeShield forwards. ScopeFence forwards. Stria forwards. Recovered-revenue totals are also

not unique — ScopeFence publishes one, and we do too. Against this set, neither is a

differentiator.

What the ScopeShield page does not describe is issuing the invoice, collecting it, recording

a partial, or reconciling a ledger. Guardian returns a verdict and a one-click change order.

Stria carries that signed extra through to an invoice on your own Stripe with no platform

fee, and syncs invoices, payments and reconciliation with either Xero or QuickBooks Online,

one ledger at a time.

3. Revision rounds and a versioned record

Stria counts rounds against the number the fee covers and will refuse an over-budget

revision round unless you override it. A signed change order supersedes the scope with a new

version. ScopeShield's SOW includes a revision policy section; enforcement after signature

is not stated on the public page.

4. Slack, and a check you can run without an account

Stria watches a selected Slack channel without workspace-wide message access, and the free

scope check returns a verbatim citation with no signup. ScopeShield's public intake is the

brief paste and the guardian address. Slack is not stated.

Feature comparison

CapabilityStriaScopeShield
AI SOW from a pasted briefNot in this shapeYes — core strength
Client signs with no accountYesYes
Forward client email, get a verdictYesYes
Recovered-revenue style totalYesLive wall of recovered figures
Guardian address in the client CCNot in this shapeYes
Verbatim citationYesVerdict cites a SOW clause
Slack watching, scopedYesNot stated
Revision-round enforcementYesPolicy in the SOW; enforcement not stated
Issues and collects the invoiceYesNot stated
Standing free tierYesNo — 14-day trial

"Not stated" means their site does not describe it either way.

How to decide in ten minutes

  1. Is the bottleneck writing the SOW, or billing the extra? Writing: they generate it.

Billing: a signed change order that never becomes an invoice is the same loss with better

stationery.

  1. Will you actually CC the guardian address on every thread? If yes, their packaging

wins. If you already forward to a tool when you smell trouble, you do not need a new

identity in the client's inbox to do that.

Moving over

There is nothing to import from a scope tool, so this is the easy part — what you carry over is

your client book, not your scope history.

Import clients, projects and unpaid invoices from a CSV export — HoneyBook, Bonsai, Dubsado or a

spreadsheet. Columns are matched by name where we recognise them, split first and last name

columns are joined, and anything we cannot place is listed for you to point at a field before a

single row is written. The preview tells you how many clients are new and how much is already

past due.

Where to start

Stria is open. The free plan carries three clients and six deliverables a month and needs no card,

which is enough to put a real project through before deciding.

Start your 14-day trial, or try it with no account at all: the

free scope check needs no signup and

saves nothing. The live demo shows what the client sees.

Useful alongside this comparison whichever tool you choose:

what scope creep actually looks like,

how to tell a client a request is out of scope,

the change order template clients sign, and

scope creep software in 2026.

---

*ScopeShield pricing, trial terms and feature descriptions were read from the vendor's own site

at scopeshieldapp.com on 1 September 2026. Vendors reprice and

change terms — verify current pricing and features on ScopeShield's own site before deciding,

particularly the active-project caps, which are part of the price. Stria figures are from our

published pricing. Content was rephrased for compliance with licensing restrictions.*

Related reading

Start your 14-day trial · Try a free scope check · All articles