Scope creep software in 2026: who does the loop
Google's 2026 results for freelancer scope-creep software are a pile of near-identical names.
We fetched the public pages ourselves on 1 September 2026. This roundup only names tools we
could open. We build Stria, which is on the list, and we have tried to be specific about where
each of the others is genuinely better.
We only quote prices we checked. Every figure below traces to a dated record. Tools whose
pages we could not load are omitted, not guessed. Vendors reprice; verify current terms on
each site before you pay for anything.
Who actually does the loop
Most of these products do one of three jobs, and the search results do not distinguish them.
- Write the sentence — paste a message, get a clause and a draft email. ScopeGuard AI,
Settled, ScopeGuardian.
- Package the extra — log it or catch it, generate a change order, maybe e-sign.
StayInScope, Boundix, ScopeFence, ScopeShield, Bordly, ScopeLock.
- Move the money — the signed extra becomes an invoice that gets collected. EasyScope
and Stria.
If your last unpaid extra died between "I should say something" and "I sent a bill," buying
another sentence-writer will not help. If you already invoice in something you like, a $9
analyser can be the correct purchase.
| Tool | What we verified | Entry, billed monthly | Intake we actually saw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stria | Live | $19, 2 seats | Forward, Slack channel, paste |
| ScopeFence | Live | $14.99 | Forward, client request form |
| Boundix | Live | $12 | You track; over-limit auto-CO |
| EasyScope | Live | $9 | Paste; embeddable form |
| Settled | Live | $9 | Upload SOW, paste message |
| Bordly | Live | $19 | PDF upload; mail mechanism not stated |
| ScopeLock | Live, in beta | $29 | Voice memo; connects Slack and email |
| ScopeShield | Live | $39 | Paste brief; guardian forward address |
| ScopeGuardian | Live, 25-spot beta | $99 + 5% of approved COs | Upload SOW, paste request |
| StayInScope | Waitlist | $19 listed | You log extras |
| ScopeGuard AI | Live | $9 one-time | Paste, no account |
| ScopeFrame | Free beta | $0 | Local, you enter the extra |
The cheap specialised tools
ScopeFrame is free while in beta, needs no account, and keeps project data in your
browser. It is a documentation toolkit: you notice the extra, it structures the change
order. Privacy wins. Detection does not. Details in Stria vs ScopeFrame.
ScopeGuard AI is $9 once per analysis, no signup. The right buy for a single awkward
request. A one-off check stores nothing to point at next month. Details in
Settled is $9 a month or $59 lifetime for 30 clause-cited analyses. Honest about
ambiguity. Stops at the email. Details in Stria vs Settled.
Boundix is $12 a month, or $199 lifetime, with a two-project free tier. Revision caps
that block work, plus 3/7/14-day payment reminders. It does not describe issuing the
invoice. Details in Stria vs Boundix.
ScopeFence is still the closest specialised competitor: $14.99 a month, a standing free
tier, a client request form, and an inbox copilot you forward mail to. It holds work until
the price is approved, then you mark it paid outside the tool. Details in
The paste-and-cite middle
EasyScope pastes a client message, simulates cost and deadline impact, and invoices.
Starter is $9. Solo Pro is $19 with signatures and a 0.5% Connect fee; your own payment
links stay at 0% EasyScope. The strongest overlap with Stria on the money half. Details in
Bordly uploads the contract PDF, scores project health, and drafts a reply for $19.
How it "monitors client communications" is not stated on the public page. Ask before you
grant anything. Details in Stria vs Bordly.
ScopeGuardian (not ScopeGuard AI) cites the SOW with confidence scores and hour ranges
by phase. Free for five analyses. Pro is $99 a month plus 5% of approved change orders after
a 25-agency beta. Details in Stria vs ScopeGuardian.
StayInScope publishes Solo Pro at $19 and Team at $49, with e-sign and a client-health
dashboard. Every plan button on 1 September 2026 still said Join waitlist. Included because
the page is live; not a thing you can start this week. Details in
The heavier specialised tools
ScopeLock turns a voice memo into a proposal and watches Slack and email. Solo is $29 a
month, fourteen days without a card, still describing itself as in beta. Fastest quoting
intake in the set. Details in Stria vs ScopeLock.
ScopeShield writes a nine-section SOW from a pasted brief and watches a per-project
guardian address. Solo is $39 a month for two projects. Forwarding, again — same shape as
Stria and ScopeFence, packaged as an identity in the client's CC field. It does not describe
invoicing. Details in Stria vs ScopeShield.
What we did not include
ScopePilot. The URL we were given, getscopepilot.com, did not return a live product
page (empty body, HTTP 500 from one fetch path). Scopepilot.com also returned nothing we
could read. Rule: a competitor with no findable product page does not get a row.
We also did not invent prices for anyone above. Where a vendor publishes a waitlist or a
beta, that sits in the same cell as the dollar figure.
How to choose in three questions
- Did you notice the extra at the time? If yes, a paste tool or a logger is enough, and
the cheaper one wins. If you noticed at invoice time, you need detection — forwarding or
a watcher whose permission you can actually name.
- Where does a signed extra go next? Into an invoicing tool you already like, or into
a notebook? Only EasyScope and Stria, of this set, claim to issue the invoice.
- Can you start this week? StayInScope's own buttons say no. ScopeGuardian Pro is a
25-spot beta. ScopeFrame and ScopeLock describe themselves as beta. The rest looked
generally available on the day we fetched.
Try the loop on one real extra
The fastest evaluation is not a twelve-row table. Take the last "quick one" you ate, lock
the original scope, and see whether the tool quotes the clause you would have quoted.
Stria's free plan reaches the whole loop on one project, including classification:
start a 14-day trial at getstria.com. If you would rather not sign up, the
free scope check runs the same judgement on a pasted
request with no account. The live demo shows the client side.
---
*Figures in this roundup were read from each vendor's own live page on 1 September 2026,
except ScopeLock, ScopeFence, ScopeGuard AI and ScopeFrame, whose dated records were read
on 14 August 2026 and are restated here. Vendors reprice — verify current pricing and
features on each vendor's own site before deciding. Stria figures are from our published
pricing. Content was rephrased for compliance with licensing restrictions.*
Related reading
- Stria vs ScopeLock: scope tool or system of record
- Stria vs ScopeFence: the closest comparison here
- What is scope creep for freelancers?
- How to tell a client it's out of scope
- Freelance change order template
Start your 14-day trial · Try a free scope check · All articles